THE VILLA HAUSERMATTE
In 1860 the Zingg family acquired a plot of land in a sought-after location on the shores of Lake Lucerne and erected a mansion on it – the VILLA. With the 20th century fast approaching – and with it rumours that the Gotthard Railway might install its terminus in the immediate vicinity – the Hauser family purchased the mansion with a view to erecting a magnificently stylish hotel in its stead.
Filled with an eventful history
It was not to be: a merger of railway companies in 1909 put paid to the vision of a railway station in the Hausermatte quarter of the town – and of a hotel; the area instead became famous around the world for its equestrian sporting events. The Concours Hippique International was first held here in 1924, and the international riding elite used to gather here until 1976.
The VILLA was extended eastwards in 1920 under the aegis of the well-known Lucerne-born architect Arnold Bringolf-Hauser, after which the Hauser family used it as its summer residence.
The municipal authorities and the Hauser family spent 70 years on and off discussing the possibility of providing a lakeside promenade. With the 800th anniversary of the town looming in 1978, the two sides finally reached an amicable settlement, resulting in the building of the promenade along the water’s edge using backfill material. As testimony to the garden’s former lakeside location, the charming wooden boathouse – now land-locked – delights passers-by to this day.
Shortly thereafter the Hausers were allowed to build premium rental apartments on some of their land together with car parking, a restaurant, a swimming pool and a physiotherapy practice. The first apartments were occupied in 1981 and the restaurant began taking orders. The VILLA in those days already had three gorgeous reception rooms on the first floor benefiting from lake views, as well as two guest rooms.